The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Republican Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20510

Re: Support for the ACE Act's Critical Free Speech and Privacy Protections

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Republican Leader McCarthy,

The undersigned nonprofit organizations and policy leaders write in strong support of the free speech and citizen privacy provisions in the "American Confidence in Elections (ACE) Act" (H.R. 8528), introduced by Congressman Rodney Davis. This thoughtful legislation protects and strengthens important First Amendment rights that Americans have enjoyed since the founding of our country. This is a critical counterbalance to the growing push for unconstitutional and harmful disclosures in Congress and at the state level that attack the rights to freely speak, publish, and support groups that advocate for causes supported by Americans across the country and ideological spectrum.

The free speech provisions in the ACE Act would defend the vital role nonprofit organizations serve in encouraging free speech and the free exchange of ideas. Privately supporting causes – and the organizations advancing those causes – is a fundamental freedom protected by the First Amendment.

Our Founding Fathers used pen names to encourage independence from Great Britain. Nearly 200 years later, the U.S. Supreme Court blocked the state of Alabama from demanding the supporter list of the NAACP, citing concerns about retribution against the group's members and financial backers. And just last year, the Supreme Court ruled in *Americans for Prosperity Foundation (AFPF) v. Bonta* that nonprofit causes cannot be forced to hand over their supporter lists to the government. The privacy rights at stake in that case were robustly supported by over 280 nonprofit groups representing a wide range of causes and political preferences.

The ACE Act would enshrine four vital privacy protections into law through the following provisions:

- **Speech Privacy Act of 2022.** Codifies the Supreme Court decisions in *NAACP v. Alabama* and *AFPF v. Bonta* by prohibiting federal agencies from collecting or disclosing the names of nonprofit supporters. Agencies that are required by law to collect this information are exempted, and penalties for government officials that illegally reveal this sensitive information are included. (Sec. 307)
- **Don't Weaponize the IRS Act.** Enshrines into law 2020 reforms issued by rulemaking that prevent the Internal Revenue Service from collecting and warehousing nonprofit donor information that the agency has acknowledged it does not use or need. (Sec. 308)
- **IRS Protections.** Prevents the IRS from writing new regulations to limit political speech by nonprofits. (Sec. 309)

• **SEC Protections.** Prohibits the Securities and Exchange Commission from requiring businesses to disclose their giving to nonprofits and membership in trade associations. (Sec. 341)

We urge <u>all</u> Members of Congress to support the strong free speech and citizen privacy provisions in Congressman Rodney Davis' "American Confidence in Elections Act." These reforms will protect millions of Americans across the country, who cherish and rely on the right to privately support causes they believe in without fear of harassment and intimidation, as well as the diverse causes they support, including the undersigned individuals and organizations.

Sincerely,

Heather Lauer, Executive Director People United for Privacy

Lisa B. Nelson, CEO ALEC Action

Brent Wm. Gardner, Chief Government Affairs Officer

Americans for Prosperity

James L. Martin, Founder/Chairman Saulius "Saul" Anuzis, President 60 Plus Association

Bethany Marcum, CEO Alaska Policy Forum

John Droz, Jr., Founder

Alliance for Wise Energy Decisions

Bob Carlstrom, President

AMAC Action

Phil Kerpen, President American Commitment

Thomas Pyle, President American Energy Alliance

Carrie Ann Donnell, Founder & President American Juris Link

Gary L. Bauer, President American Values Grover Norquist, President Americans for Tax Reform

Elizabeth McGuigan, Senior Director of Policy &

Government Affairs

The Philanthropy Roundtable

Tracie Sharp, President and CEO

State Policy Network

Scott Walter, President* Capital Research Center

Garrett Ballengee, Executive Director Cardinal Institute for West Virginia Policy

Ryan Johnson, Assoc. Commissioner, District 2 Cass County Commission

Ryan Ellis, President Center for a Free Economy

Andrew F. Quinlan, President Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Craig Rucker, President

CFACT

David N. Bossie, President

Citizens United

Ashley Baker, Director of Public Policy

The Committee for Justice

Charles Mitchell, President and CEO Commonwealth Foundation

Ron Pearson, Executive Director Conservative Victory Fund

Tom Schatz, President

Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Tim Hoefer, President & CEO

Empire Center for New York State Policy

Grant Callen, Founder & CEO Empower Mississippi Foundation

Craig Richardson, President

Energy & Environment Legal Institute

Timothy R. Head, Executive Director Faith & Freedom Coalition

Victoria Cobb, President

The Family Foundation of Virginia

Brian Minnich, Executive Vice President

Freedom Foundation

Annette Meeks, CEO

Freedom Foundation of Minnesota

Adam Brandon, President

FreedomWorks

Randy Hicks, President and CEO Georgia Center for Opportunity

Jon Riches, Vice President for Litigation

Goldwater Institute

Tim Macy, Chairman Gun Owners of America

James Taylor, President The Heartland Institute

Jessica Anderson, Executive Director

Heritage Action

Fred Birnbaum, Director of Legislative Affairs

Idaho Freedom Foundation and

Idaho Freedom Action

Matt Paprocki, President Illinois Policy Institute

Heather R. Higgins, CEO Independent Women's Voice

Chris Hagenow, President Iowans for Tax Relief

J. Robert McClure III, Ph. D., President and CEO

The James Madison Institute

Brian Balfour, Senior VP of Research

John Locke Foundation

Brett Healy, President

The John MacIver Institute for Public Policy

Morton Blackwell, President The Leadership Institute

Seton Motley, President Less Government

Connor Boyack, President

Libertas Institute

Charles Moran, President Log Cabin Republicans

Joseph Lehman, President

Mackinac Center for Public Policy

Matthew Gagnon, Chief Executive Officer

Maine Policy Institute

Douglas Carswell, President & CEO Mississippi Center for Public Policy

Cristen Wohlgemuth, President & CEO

Mountain States Legal Foundation

Karen Bowling, Executive Director Nebraska Family Alliance

Robert Fellner, Vice President Nevada Policy Research Institute

The Hon. J. Kenneth Blackwell Former Treasurer, State of Ohio

Jonathan Small, President Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs

Tarren Bragdon, CEO Opportunity Solutions Project

Sally Pipes, President & CEO* Pacific Research Institute

Daniel Erspamer, CEO
The Pelican Institute for Public Policy

Eli Lehrer, President* R Street Institute

Mike Stenhouse, CEO Rhode Island Center for Freedom & Prosperity

*Affiliation used for identification purposes only.

Paul Gessing, President Rio Grande Foundation

Maureen Blum, Founder and Principal Strategic Coalitions & Initiatives LCC

Kristan Hawkins, President Students for Life of America and Students for Life Action

David Williams, President Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Jenny Beth Martin, Honorary Chairman Tea Party Patriots Action

Christian N. Braunlich, President & CEO Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy

Vic Bernson, Vice President & General Counsel Young America's Foundation