July 12, 2023

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Speaker of the House of Representatives U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries Democratic Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

## Re: Support for the American Confidence in Elections Act's Critical Free Speech and Privacy Protections

Dear Speaker McCarthy and Democratic Leader Jeffries,

The undersigned nonprofit organizations and policy leaders write in strong support of the free speech and citizen privacy provisions in the "American Confidence in Elections (ACE) Act" (H.R. 4563) introduced by Congressman Bryan Steil. This thoughtful legislation protects and strengthens important First Amendment rights that Americans have enjoyed since the founding of our country. This is a critical counterbalance to the growing push for unconstitutional and harmful disclosures in Congress and at the state level that attack the rights to freely speak, publish, and support groups that advocate for causes supported by Americans across the country and ideological spectrum.

The free speech provisions in the American Confidence in Elections Act would defend the vital role nonprofit organizations serve in encouraging free speech and the free exchange of ideas. Privately supporting causes – and the organizations advancing those causes – is a fundamental freedom protected by the First Amendment.

Our Founding Fathers used pen names to encourage independence from Great Britain. Nearly 200 years later, the U.S. Supreme Court blocked the state of Alabama from demanding the supporter list of the NAACP, citing concerns about retribution against the group's members and financial backers. And in 2021, the Supreme Court ruled in *Americans for Prosperity Foundation (AFPF) v. Bonta* that nonprofit causes cannot be forced to hand over their supporter lists to the government. The privacy rights at stake in that case were robustly supported by nearly 300 nonprofit groups representing a wide range of causes and political preferences. In the past five years alone, 17 states have passed laws – frequently with bipartisan support – strengthening and protecting nonprofit donor privacy rights.

The American Confidence in Elections Act would enshrine four vital privacy protections into law through the following provisions:

- **Speech Privacy Act of 2023.** Codifies the Supreme Court decisions in *NAACP v. Alabama* and *AFPF v. Bonta* by prohibiting federal agencies from collecting or disclosing the names of nonprofit supporters. Agencies that are required by law to collect this information are exempted, and penalties for government officials that illegally reveal this sensitive information are included. (Sec. 308)
- **Don't Weaponize the IRS Act.** Enshrines into law 2020 reforms issued by rulemaking that prevent the Internal Revenue Service from collecting and warehousing nonprofit donor information that the agency has acknowledged it does not use or need. (Sec. 309)
- **IRS Protections.** Prevents the IRS from writing new regulations to limit political speech by nonprofits. (Sec. 310)
- **SEC Protections.** Prohibits the Securities and Exchange Commission from requiring businesses to disclose their giving to nonprofits and membership in trade associations. (Sec. 341)

We urge <u>all</u> Members of Congress to support the strong free speech and citizen privacy provisions in Congressman Bryan Steil's "American Confidence in Elections Act." These reforms will protect millions of Americans across the country, who cherish and rely on the right to privately support causes they believe in without fear of harassment and intimidation, as well as the diverse causes they support, including the undersigned individuals and organizations.

Sincerely,

Heather Lauer, CEO	Grover Norquist, President
People United for Privacy	Americans for Tax Reform
Lisa B. Nelson, CEO	Elizabeth McGuigan, VP of Policy and
ALEC Action	Government Affairs
James L. Martin, Founder and Chairman	Philanthropy Roundtable
Saulius "Saul" Anuzis, President	Phil Kerpen, President
60 Plus Association	American Commitment
Paul Teller, Executive Director	Thomas Pyle, President
Advancing American Freedom	American Energy Alliance
Bethany Marcum, CEO	Carrie Ann Donnell, Founder and President
Alaska Policy Forum	American Juris Link
Bob Carlstrom, President	Mark Fitzgibbons, President of Corporate Affairs
AMAC Action	American Target Advertising

Gary Bauer, President American Values

Richard Manning, President Americans for Limited Government

Robert Alt, President and CEO The Buckeye Institute

Scott Walter, President\* Capital Research Center

Maureen Blum, President Catholics Count

Daniel Mitchell, President Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Dawn Wildman, Director of Policy Coalition for Policy Reform

Charles Mitchell, President and CEO Commonwealth Foundation

Ron Pearson, Executive Director Conservative Victory Fund

Lawson Bader, President and CEO DonorsTrust

Tim Hoefer, President and CEO Empire Center for Public Policy

Grant Callen, Founder and CEO Empower Mississippi Foundation

Victoria Cobb, President Family Foundation of Virginia

Brian Minnich, Executive Vice President Freedom Foundation Annette Meeks, Founder and CEO Freedom Foundation of Minnesota

Randy Hicks, President and CEO Georgia Center for Opportunity

Victor Riches, President and CEO Goldwater Institute

Aidan Johnston, Director of Federal Affairs Gun Owners of America

Cameron Sholty, Director of Government Relations Heartland Institute

Mario H. Lopez, President Hispanic Leadership Fund

Fred Birnbaum, Legislative Affairs Director Idaho Freedom Foundation and Idaho Freedom Action

Matt Paprocki, President Illinois Policy Institute

Shayne Madsen, Director of Political Law Center Independence Institute

Heather R. Higgins, CEO Independent Women's Voice

Andrew Langer, President Institute for Liberty

Chris Hagenow, President Iowans for Tax Relief

J. Robert McClure III, Ph.D., President and CEO James Madison Institute

Brian Balfour, Senior VP of Research John Locke Foundation

Brett Healy, President John K. MacIver Institute for Public Policy

Morton Blackwell, President Leadership Institute

Seton Motley, President Less Government

Connor Boyack, President Libertas Institute

Charles T. Moran, President Log Cabin Republicans

Gene Mills, President Louisiana Family Forum

Joseph Lehman, President Mackinac Center for Public Policy

Matthew Gagnon, CEO Maine Policy Institute

Cristen Wohlgemuth, President and CEO Mountain States Legal Foundation

Maureen Blum, Sr. Government Affairs Advisor National Committee for Religious Freedom

Robert Fellner, Policy Director Nevada Policy Research Institute

James K. Womack, President North Carolina Election Integrity Team

The Hon. J. Kenneth Blackwell\* Former Treasurer, State of Ohio Jonathan Small, President Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs

Tarren Bragdon, CEO Opportunity Solutions Project

Wendy D. Damron, President and CEO Palmetto Promise Institute

Daniel Erspamer, CEO Pelican Institute for Public Policy

Eli Lehrer, President\* R Street Institute

Sarah Hunt, President The Rainey Center Freedom Project

Mike Stenhouse, CEO Rhode Island Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Paul Gessing, President Rio Grande Foundation

Trent England, Executive Director Save Our States

Tracie Sharp, President and CEO State Policy Network

Kristan Hawkins, President Students for Life of America and Students for Life Action

Jenny Beth Martin, Honorary Chairman Tea Party Patriots Action

Derrick Max, President and CEO Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy Rick Esenberg, President Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty

Carol Platt Liebau, President Yankee Institute C. Todd Hester, President\* Yorktown Foundation for Public Policy

Vic Bernson, Vice President and General Counsel Young America's Foundation

\* Affiliation used for identification purposes only.